Fear

/fi(ə)r/

Noun
An unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.

As I try to stay positive by putting myself out there in the job market each day, I can’t help but wonder, did I get this all wrong? Should I have stuck with an Engineering job after graduation, and not have wandered astray? What if the calling of my heart does not pay the bills, and what I love to do does not fill my day?

And suddenly, this little spark ignites inside of me, and I know it’s fear. The fear of the unknown, and the fear of the mind. Interestingly, fear is all in our heads, created by ourselves, and yet hard to control like wildfire. For it is like a disease, eating away at your true self by feeding off the most vulnerable thoughts and uncertainties. The older we get, the more fearful we tend to become. Maybe it’s all the responsibilities we gain, the comfort of a stable life, and unlike a child, we are no longer innocent.

So I take a deep breath in and ask myself, what’s the worst that can happen? Death perhaps, but as long as I am alive and breathing, there will always be opportunities and possibilities waiting around the corner. Instead of focusing on the fear of rejection or finding excuses that I’m not good enough, I should focus my energy and thoughts on the present. What’s happening right now, at this moment, and how do I make the best out of it? We cannot change the past as it’s already gone, and we do not know what’s in the future. The only thing that’s for certain is now, and what we can do to prepare ourselves for the future that’s still unwritten.

And with that, I will keep on following my heart and not let my mind tell me otherwise. I will not hide behind negative thoughts or feelings, but rather focus on what I can do to solve or improve the situation. Being fearless to me is to understand the present, and know exactly what I need to do now.

Or you can try this little handy questionnaire:

fear questionnaire

See, there’s nothing to be afraid about : )

Leave a Reply

