Take 2: Eka Pada Koundinyasana I

Extended side crow has always been a scary pose for me, mostly because I have a fear of hitting my head on the ground or collapsing in my arms and hurting myself. Eka Pada Koundinyasana II was not as bad as I have more control by facing forward, but Eka Pada Koundinyasana I is a backwards twisted arm balance, and the moment when I crisscrossed my top leg towards the back of the room was the scariest moment of my life.

I took a deep breath in, looked forward, and repeated to myself, I can do this. It was an odd feeling of not seeing where my legs were, and having to trust my body to do its thing. I held my gaze, gripped the mat, and felt my leg slowly but steadily extend towards the back.

Although it’s not perfect at first, we will all improve with time and practice; the main thing is that we believed in ourselves and took the first step towards overcoming fear.  Les Brown once said, too many of us are not living our dreams because we are living our fears.

So step up and step out, who knows where life will lead you?

Leave a Reply

