Hello, is the Bra Doctor in?

I have never been properly fitted into a bra since I began wearing one when I was 14.

There, I said it.

I still remember my first awkward visit to buy a bra myself, looking around the store and picking out one that sort of look like it would fit me, tried it on, and ever since then declared myself as a 34B. That is, until today.

I hear their ads over the radio all the time, “Essentials Lingerie, home of the one and only bra doctor in the Valley”, situated right in Greenwood and 5min from my home, yet I’ve never went. Probably because I had my mind closed on the matter, that I was happy with what I already know about bras and how to measure my size, and that I didn’t want to be told otherwise, especially to find out that, gasp, I might be amongst the 80% of people that wear the wrong bra size all their life!

As I walked into the store, I was greeted by one of the Bra Nurses, she took me back to the change room, took a look at what I was currently wearing, and came back with a 34D. I thought she was joking, come on, I could only dream to be a D! But she looked very serious, so I thought it must be the way they fit you, going down in sizes until it fits. I held back my confusion and tried it on. When I looked at myself in the mirror, it was very different from what I normally see, even without the “pushup” and all the padding, it looked better, and surprisingly it was very comfortable and well fitted! She double check the straps and band, and told me that size doesn’t matter, all it matters is how the bra fits and feels on you. I was still in shock of wearing a D cup when she suggested that I go down a band size because it was a bit loose. Then she came back with 32DD!

I took a deep breath in and thought about it, and it does make sense. It’s like buying clothes, you are not defined by a size, but rather how that brand or style fits you. Each company makes their clothes differently, so I have clothes that ranges from XXS to L. Size is just a relative label that helps you choose, but in the end it’s all about how it fits.

She then gave me some other styles to choose from, all by the same brand but my “size” ranged all the way from 32DD, 34B, to 34D. All that I’ve ever known about how you measure the top and bottom to find your bra size was wrong, even the band size can change depending on if the material is stretchy or not. What matters is that the bra isn’t cutting into you and that it lays perfectly flat and smooth along your skin.

It was such an eye opening experience, and I’m really glad that I went. Not only did I find a bra that actually fits, I also learned about how to choose a perfectly fitted bra so I won’t run into any problems in the future. The only downside is that once I got home and tried on my own bras I realized that they did not fit me at all, guess it’s shopping time!

We are what we are, and we should never change or be one bit less of ourselves in order to fit into a predefined notion or group, nor should we use a predefined set of characteristics to tell us who we are.

So just be you, and hopefully in a better fitted bra!

doctor is in

3 thoughts on “Hello, is the Bra Doctor in?

  1. peter clarke says:

    Sophie;
    Perhaps your problem is not the bra size but the experience of the fitter.I have been a bra fitter for 27 years.Bring your essentials to me and I will be happy to give you a hand.

    Peter

Leave a Reply

