No need to fear, for summer is here!

After weeks of waiting and enduring the cold raining weather, the sun is finally shining on the East coast, and summer is here! I’ll admit that I’m pleasantly suprised that it’s actually hotter here than in Vancouver this year.

Last weekend was the Relay for Life walk from 7pm to 7am. My shift was from 10p-11p, and David walked from 1am-4am. We were very lucky that it didn’t rain all night, but also unfortuante that it started pouring when we were packing up at 7:30am. It was a very inspiring and emotional evening, with lots of great activities too. I danced to Zumba for an hour, and it was so much fun! There was also yoga, washer throwing, face painting, and of course yummy food. We got home at 1oam Saturday and fell right asleep!

Miner’s Marsh  is now open, and it’s a 1.5km trail behind our office. It’s not the grouse grind, but at least I can finish it during my lunch break. I take half an hour everyday to walk around it, and it’s so nice to breathe in fresh air while looking at ducks, turtles, and birds. I also walk on the treadmill daily, hoping to recoup on the lost bicycle time all winter. It’s a strange feeling to be sitting all day, and with bicycle no longer my main form of transportation, I have to conscienciously find ways to keep myself fit and exercise. I will also resume swimming, and try to go at least twice a week.

As for LSS, she’s been making lots of friends lately and won’t come home at night. As responsible pet owners (and nosy mom and dad), we are not letting her out at night anymore. This way Dave doesn’t have to wake up at 4am in the morning and open the door for her (when she decides to come home and pounce on the front door). This got us thinking that maybe she’s just very loney, so we are contemplating on a second kitty, mostly likely a male kitten (hint: http://www.spcans.ca/kings-adoptions/view-cats.html?action=pet&petid=23197374). I’m very excited for the possibilty, but I know Dave’s a bit worried if we can handle two bundles of joy.

And that’s the update from me! Hope everyone is a having a great week, and may summer shine on everyone soon!

Love! 

 

2 thoughts on “No need to fear, for summer is here!

Leave a Reply

