Kitty 911

Today I nearly had an heart attack with LSS!

I was at home alone surfing online while David was at badminton, and LSS was lying beside me napping. All was peaceful and quiet when LSS started to choke. I thought she had ate her food again too fast and was going to puke, so I gently petted her on the back and said “it’s okay”. She looked at me weird and jumped down to the carpet.

All of a sudden, she started to scratch her neck like crazy. I went over to see if she got caught on the collar and to remove it for her. Just as I was reaching for the collar, she ran off upstairs and I saw blood dripping from her neck.

I must explain here that I’m deathly afraid of seeing blood, and my immediate response on seeing someone else bleed is that they are going to die. Blood started to rush to my head, and my heart started to pump so fast that I couldn’t breathe. I ran upstairs after her and grabbed my cellphone to call David. I was panting and couldn’t put phrases together, I was like, LSS is bleeding, I don’t know what to do!

After I hung up the phone, I realized LSS had ran back downstairs. I was scared, nervous, and didn’t know what to do. I thought she must have choked herself and now she’s going to die bleeding to death from the neck. I couldn’t bring myself to go downstairs to look at her, and paced in my bedroom not knowing what to do.

I was about to dial 911 and stopped myself half way. I finally calmed myself down a bit and walked down the stairs. She was sitting in the living room, and when she looked up at me, I swear it was like a scene from a horror movie. Her neck was soaked in blood, and she still kept on scratching it with her right paw. Moreover, there were blood trails all over.

I hid behind the stairway and couldn’t think. I was panicking and decided to call my friend Monica. I was almost in tears when she answered the phone, and the first sentence that came out of me was, I don’t know what to do! She calmed me down and gave me the number to the animal hospital. To my relief, David arrived home.

His first response was, did LSS eat the goldfish? I was certain she didn’t because goldfish don’t bleed! But I ran upstairs and checked anyways, and Mark, Kurt, and John were all okay. David then grabbed a towel and did something magical, and LSS was okay again. I was still a wreck and just knelled down on the floor wiping the blood stains. What happened in between was a big blur to me, and soon we were at the animal hospital, and the nurses made an appointment for tomorrow afternoon and told us she was okay.

Now she’s running and galloping all around the house again, and I feel like an over-reacted mom :’ ( David says it was more like a Sophie 911 than LSS. Maybe next time we will get a snap free collar instead, and I need to get myself checked in to be able to deal with blood. Should I cancel my first-aid training fully knowing that I really won’t be any help at all?

Deep breath, remember to take a deep breath!

Leave a Reply

