I ❤ Corn

The food prices here are ridiculous high, 3 oranges and 4 apples came out to almost 6 dollars at the local grocery store. Chicken is more expensive than beef, mushrooms are $5/lb, and other vegies are almost twice as much as they were in Vancouver. David says I’ll need to change my diet to keep up with the food prices here. Luckily, what’s cheap is sweet corn, and we love corn.

They are grown locally here, and at the end of season, a dozen sells for $1.99. We bought 2 dozens of them and have them almost every day. I boil them, make them into soup, or add them to stir fry. Cooked corn has significant antioxidant activity, which means they’re good for the heart and skin. It’s also said to reduce the chance of cancer, although not proven fully. Either way, I love the taste of it, and the health benefits are a great plus on top.

My first yoga class at the sports centre went really well. Four people came, including David, but I thought it was a good turn out with the short notice. The staff at the centre were super nice and friendly, helping me set up the room and showed me how everything worked. They even have an ipod already filled with yoga and work out songs! I’m really looking forward to next week’s class, and hope more people will come!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

