To each their own

We have been really busy preparing for our big move to Nova Scotia. For those of you who told me that the Martimes is beautiful, I must say we have it better here in BC. There are mountains, ocean, cities, people, and roads that are scenic and amazing to drive on. Plus we have 2 IKEA’s! I will surely miss living in Vancouver.

One thing I’ve been brewing on is how easy it is to be blinded by what’s on the surface. Over the years, I have learned to be happy and appreciate what I already have, instead of comparing to others on the things that I don’t have. I had to get to know myself first before I could realize what I truly needed in life. I found myself in many different ways, such as meditating, writing a diary, or just having a great conversation with other people. Instead of mindless searching and wanting what others have, I finally knew I wanted and what makes me happy. I think a common problem is that we tend to know what we don’t want, but we rarely know what we actually want.

To be happy with ourselves, we need to be confident about what we already have and what we can offer. It’s never long lasting if we rely on others to make us happy. There will always be better and nicer things we can buy to fill our closets, but in the end we might be left with an empty wallet and an empty heart. Life is too short and precious, and I hope to live a free life according to myself and what I believe in.

So choose wisely on a path you will live your life, and fully commit to it while still keeping an open heart for others. For there is no right or wrong way, and you should never force your views or ideas on others. Instead, influence people by leading with examples, because we all know that actions speak louder than words.

Hopefully in time we will all find inner peace and on our way to true happiness.

Leave a Reply

